July – Month in Review

This is a new idea which I came up with. I thought why not review each month of running. This allows for me to see my progress and you too.
I started the month off with continuing on with a half-marathon plan which added some format to my runs. The main difference adding Sunday as my ‘long run’ day and planning around this. This makes me look forward to Sunday unlike most people! I love my long runs. 

In June I started my local parkrun. If you don’t know what it is, it’s a free 5km run which is done on Saturdays. My when I started off with it I wasn’t sure what to expect time wise. The first parkrun I completed was in 27 minutes. This being quite slow for me. Gradually I got more comfortable with the course and this month I achieved a personal best of 24:30. 

Moving onto my long runs. Throughout July I completed my first half-marathon (during a training run). This was done in 2 hours and 2 minutes. It was fairly difficult for me especially towards the end! However, I was really happy with how this run went. Since that, I completed another half-marathon during another training run. This time I completed it in 1 hour 55 minutes! During this run I used my hydration-belt for the first time! (review coming soon). I felt as though having water with me really helped especially during a run of that length.

My final mileage for July was – 130 miles ran. 

-ewan 

Leave a Reply

